Lt. Henry B. Dillard, 33rd Alabama Infantry

Henry B Dillard CDVMy great grandfather, Lt. Henry B Dillard was wounded and captured a few days after the Battle of Franklin. He was sent to Ft Delaware as a POW for some time before he was released in a prisoner swap. He kept a diary that he “captured” at Chickamauga and I am fortunate enough to have it in my possession. He corresponded with some residents of Franklin after the war and I have the original letters also. I have several of his documents and letters from that time.

Mike Dillard

This entry was posted in 1st Lt., 33rd Alabama Infantry, Captured, Direct descendant, Franklin casualty, Letter(s), Survived Franklin, Surviving items. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lt. Henry B. Dillard, 33rd Alabama Infantry

  1. jgijim4u says:

    Mr. Dillard, My name is Jim Faust and I have just completed a regimental history of the 15th Alabama Infantry. I am researching to write a regimental history of the 33rd Alabama Infantry and would love to read Henry’s diary and letters. How may I read them?

    Thank You

Leave a Reply

